COUNCIL

Wednesday, 15 May 2019

Attendance:

Councillors Pearson (Chairman)

Achwal Mather Becker McLean Bell Miller **Bentote** Murphy Porter Brook Clear Power Cook Prince Cunningham Read Cutler Ruffell Evans Rutter Gemmell Scott Godfrey Thompson Gottlieb Tod Green Weir Griffiths Weston Hiscock Bronk Horrill Clementson Humby Craske Hutchison Ferguson Laming Fern

Learney Gordon-Smith Lumby Williams

1. TO ELECT FROM AMONGST THE MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL A PERSON TO BE MAYOR OF THE CITY OF WINCHESTER FOR THE ENSUING YEAR.

Proposed by Councillor Evans.

Seconded by Councillor Thompson and resolved unanimously that Councillor Eleanor Bell be elected Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 15 May 2019.

Councillor Pearson vacated the Chair, which was taken by the Mayor who made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

2. TO MOVE A VOTE OF THANKS TO THE RETIRING MAYOR.

Proposed by Councillor Read.

Seconded by Councillor Weston and resolved unanimously that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Pearson for his service to the Council as Mayor during the past year.

3. TO ELECT FROM AMONGST THE MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL A PERSON TO BE DEPUTY MAYOR OF THE CITY OF WINCHESTER FOR THE ENSUING YEAR.

Proposed by Councillor Godfrey.

Seconded by Councillor Horrill and resolved unanimously that Councillor Patrick Cunningham be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Winchester for the period commencing on 15 May 2019.

4. TO ELECT THE LEADER (CHAIRPERSON OF CABINET) FOR THE ENSUING YEAR IN ACCORDANCE WITH PART 3 OF THE CONSTITUTION.

Council noted that Councillor Horrill had formally resigned as Leader of the Council and The Mayor asked for nominations.

Councillor Evans proposed Councillor Thompson to be Leader (Chairperson of Cabinet) which was seconded by Councillor Cutler.

RESOLVED:

That Councillor Thompson be appointed Leader of the Council.

5. THE LEADER TO ANNOUNCE THE APPOINTMENT OF THE DEPUTY
LEADER (VICE CHAIRPERSON OF CABINET) AND THE OTHER MEMBERS
OF CABINET IN ACCORDANCE WITH PART 3 OF THE CONSTITUTION

The Leader, Councillor Thompson, appointed Councillor Cutler as Vice-Chairman of Cabinet and Deputy Leader of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Leader also appointed Councillors Learney, Murphy, Porter, Prince, and Weir as the remaining Members of Cabinet.

6. TO ELECT THE CHAIRPERSONS OF EACH OF THE FOLLOWING BODIES (OR OTHER BODIES AS COUNCIL MAY DETERMINE) FOR THE ENSUING YEAR:-

RESOLVED:

The following Members were elected Chairpersons of the Committees stated for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

The Scrutiny Committee – Councillor Brook Audit and Governance Committee – Councillor Power Licensing and Regulation Committee – Councillor Bentote Planning Committee – Councillor Evans Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Committee - Councillor Evans

Business and Housing Policy Committee – Councillor Hiscock Health and Environment Policy Committee – Councillor Clear Licensing Sub Committee Chairpersons – Councillors Green, Laming, Cook, Mather

7. TO DETERMINE THE NUMBER OF SEATS TO BE ALLOCATED TO EACH GROUP ON, AND TO ELECT THE REMAINING MEMBERS OF. THE FOLLOWING BODIES (OR OTHER BODIES AS COUNCIL MAY **DETERMINE) FOR THE ENSUING YEAR:-**

With the exception of Cabinet, the Council reviewed the political representation on Committees in accordance with the provisions of Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

The Council determined the representation on all the bodies as set out below under alternative arrangements for the Housing Appeals and Appeals and Disputes Committees, but having regard to the political balance formula.

RESOLVED:

- That the Corporate Head of Resources be authorised to make any minor consequential amendments to the Constitution to give effect to the decisions made.
- That the allocation of seats to political groups be as follows:

The Scrutiny Committee (10) Liberal Democrats (6): Conservatives (4)

Whilst the Constitution at Part 4.3 - Overview and Scrutiny Procedure Rules, states that The Scrutiny Committee will comprise of up to 9 members, Council agreed unanimously to waive this procedure rule and create a committee of 10 members for this year only.

Audit and Governance Committee (11) Liberal Democrats (7): Conservatives (4)

Licensing and Regulation Committee (11) Liberal Democrats (7): Conservatives (4)

Planning Committee (9)

Liberal Democrats (5): Conservatives (4)

Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Committee (5)

Liberal Democrats (3): Conservatives (2)

Business and Housing Policy Committee (7)

Liberal Democrats (4): Conservatives (3)

Health and Environment Policy Committee (7)

Liberal Democrats (4): Conservatives (3)

Housing Appeals Committee (3)

Liberal Democrats (2): Conservatives (1)

Licensing Sub-Committee Chairpersons (4)

Liberal Democrats (2): Conservatives (2)

Human Resources Sub-Committee (4)

Liberal Democrats (2): Conservatives (2)

(relevant only before the first meeting of the Audit and Governance Committee)

Standards Hearings Sub-Committee (4)

Liberal Democrats (2): Conservatives (2)

(relevant only before the first meeting of the Audit and Governance Committee)

Further to the above, and pursuant to Section 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Chief Executive served notice on each of the Leaders of the two political groups on the Council as to the allocation of seats on Committees as indicated above.

RESOLVED:

That the following appointments to Committees be made (inclusive of the Chairmen who were appointed earlier in the meeting):-

The Scrutiny Committee

Councillors Brook, Gordon-Smith, Gottlieb, Griffiths, Hiscock,

Horrill, Laming, Lumby, Power, Tod

Deputies

Councillors Clear, Craske, Scott, Weston

Audit and Governance Committee

Councillors Achwal, Becker, Bentote, Bronk, Godfrey, Gottlieb,

Laming, Mather, Miller, Power, Weston

Deputies

Councillors Williams, Gemmell

Licensing and Regulation Committee

Councillors Achwal, Bentote, Clementson, Cook, Fern, Gemmell, Gordon-Smith, Green, Laming, Mather, Williams

Deputies

Councillors Clear, Power, McLean, Read

Planning Committee

Councillors Bronk, Clear, Cunningham, Evans, Laming, McLean, Read, Ruffell, Rutter

Deputies

Councillors Bentote, Gottlieb, Brook, Pearson, Scott

Joint West of Waterlooville MDA Planning Committee

Councillors Clear, Evans, Laming, McLean, Read

Deputies

Councillors Bronk, Rutter, Cunningham, Ruffell

Business and Housing Policy Committee

Councillors Craske, Gottlieb, Hiscock, Humby, Lumby, Rutter, Scott Deputies

Councillors Bronk, Clear, Godfrey, Horrill

Health and Environment Policy Committee

Councillors Becker, Brook, Clear, Ferguson, Griffiths, Laming,

Pearson

Deputies

Councillors Hutchison, Williams, Horrill, Weston

8. TO PASS THE FOLLOWING RESOLUTION IN RESPECT OF THE WINCHESTER TOWN FORUM:

RESOLVED:

That the Winchester Town Forum be established for 2019/20 with membership consisting of all Members who represent the five Winchester Town Wards.

9. TO PASS THE FOLLOWING RESOLUTION IN RESPECT OF THE HOUSING (APPEALS) COMMITTEE:

RESOLVED:

That alternative arrangements other than proportional representation be agreed in respect of the Housing (Appeals) Committee and that Members of the Committee be appointed as follows:-

Councillors Clear, Rutter, Scott Deputies
Councillor Horrill, Hutchison

10. APPOINTMENT OF MONITORING OFFICER

RESOLVED:

That Lisa Kirkman, Corporate Head of Service (Resources) be appointed Monitoring Officer for the Council with effect from 15 May 2019.

The meeting commenced at 7.00 pm and concluded at 8.30 pm

The Mayor